About Us

Create. Inspire. Connect. 

A warm welcome to the 8th annual Belfast Media Festival! We’ve spent a long time putting together some amazing speakers and sessions for you. We hope you’ll be inspired enough to connect with others and create fantastic content and new business opportunities. We know that networking opportunities are the key to making this happen, so as usual, there will be ample opportunities to do this in-between and after the sessions.

We’re delighted to be hosting the 3rd Annual RTS awards and also welcoming fabulous and inspiring speakers like Dee Forbes, Director General of RTE; Jed Mercurio, writer and producer, Line of Duty, C4’s Jon Snow and a whole host of commissioners and distributors.

For the first time this year, we are also partnering with the BBC Academy who will be running one of their Digital Cities events in the early part of the week across Belfast. Details here.

Advance registrations for the The Belfast Media Festival is now closed.  Should you wish to attend, please come along on Thursday or Friday and we will do our utmost to accommodate you however access to particular sessions is not guaranteed

What a week it’s going to be!

We couldn’t run this festival without the generosity of our ever-increasing band of sponsors. Thanks to them, entry remains free for all. If you’re interested in sponsoring next year, and finding out about the benefits that can bring you, please email Karen Hoey or call on: 028 9066 4020. 

Register Now for BMF2017


The Belfast Media Festival remains free to all because it is sponsored by a wide variety of broadcasters and media companies. Without their support, the festival would not exist, so we wish to thank them all.

The festival is run by a small committee:

Helen Thompson, Lead Talent Manager, BBC NI
Moira Kean, Kean Vision Ltd
William Johnston, Commissioning and Channels Manager, BBC NI
Kieran Doherty, Stellify Media
Donal Philips, Head of Digital, Northern Ireland Screen
Maeve McLoughlin, Stellify Media
Emma-Rosa Dias, Producer/Director, Afro-Mic Productions

Our Sponsors

Principal Partners